While a DUI is always a serious matter, the first offense for a defendant will typically be met with the least serious penalties. Without a track record of violating the DUI laws of the state of Michigan, the court will often levy a minor punishment in the hopes that the ordeal of being brought to court and put through an arrest will be enough to prevent future incidents. With that said, it is still very important to fight any DUI charge to the fullest extent of the law. While the first conviction might not be punished that harshly by the court, you will still face other fallout like increasing insurance rates, fines, and maybe even losing your job. If you are charged with DUI in the state of Michigan, give our offices a call today for a free consultation.
Without a record of DUI convictions, the arguments made by a defendant in a case such as this may be more well received by a judge than in a case that features a repeat offender. Often, the penalties for a first offense DUI conviction look something like the following –
- Up to 48 hours in jail
- Probationary period of 3-5 years
- 6 month suspended license
- DUI classes and counseling
You will not be looking at significant jail time in most cases, but the other penalties could still take a toll on your life as a whole. Avoiding some of the damage that these penalties can cause is certainly in your best interest.
The attorneys at Sumner & Associates would be happy to work with you in defending against this first time DUI charge. Give us a call today and we will be happy to offer you a free consultation. You don’t have to sit back and accept a DUI conviction without getting your day in court. We look forward to receiving your call.