Super Drunk

The state of Michigan has a newer law on the books called the ‘Super Drunk’ law. This law allows for more severe punishments for drivers who are operating a motor vehicle while extremely intoxicated. If a driver in convicted under super drunk charges, the will face much higher penalties than those prosecuted under a simple DUI charge. The offices of Sumner & Associates is experienced in defending against super drunk charges and will work hard to keep your good name protected.

 

In order to be eligible for super drunk charges in the state of Michigan, you need to be tested to have a BAC level of .17% or higher. This charge allows for prosecutors to seek penalties that are normally reserved for repeat offenders in a case where a first time offender has a very high BAC.

 

In general, the penalties for a super drunk conviction are double that of a regular DUI charge. Those penalties include –

 

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Suspended driver’s license for one year
  • As much as 360 hours of community service
  • Six points added to your driving record
  • Up to $700 in fines

 

As you can see, the penalties for being convicted on charges of driving while super drunk are very serious. These penalties will have a lasting effect on your life, so it is wise to fight them to the fullest extent of the law. Call the offices of Sumner & Associates today for a free consultation and to speak with our team about the next step in your process. We would love to take up your cause and work hard to present your arguments in front of the court.