You have to be a licensed driver to legally operate a motor vehicle on the roads and highways of the state of Michigan. If you have had your license suspended for some reason and are caught driving during that time period, you could face some potentially serious consequences. If you are currently facing the charge of driving with a suspended license and you wish to fight against that charge, call our offices today. We are experienced in Michigan courtrooms and will work hard to defend your rights.
In most cases, this charge is a misdemeanor in the state of Michigan. The first offense for an individual under this law will result in no more than 93 days in jail and a fine of under $500 if convicted. Often, this conviction will not lead to any jail time for the convicted if there are no extenuating circumstances that exist.
For a second offense under the driving with a suspended license law, you could potentially face up to a year in prison and a fine of $1,000. Jail time is not always handed down in this kind of case, but it is certainly a possibility.
Beyond those punishments, drivers who get caught with a suspended license also face an extension of their license suspension, or having the license revoked altogether. Also, if you are in a car accident while your license is suspended, you could face felony charges and a likely trip to jail if convicted.
Even though you might not be headed for jail on a standard driving with a suspended license charge, you would be wise to retain council and fight this charge all the way through. Putting this on your record will make keeping your driver’s license more difficult, and your insurance rates are sure to increase. Call our offices at Sumner and Associates today for a free consultation and to get started on your defense. We look forward to helping you with this matter right away.